As of January 1, 2018, California began a phase-in-by-age law that requires all boat and PWC operators to pass a boater safety course and to carry the California boater card.
The law is being phased in over several years. Operators 40 years of age or younger are required to carry the California Boater Card by January 1, 2021. Each year a new age group is added to those required to carry a Boater Card.
January 1, 2021 - Persons 40 years of age or younger
January 1, 2022 - Persons 45 years of age or younger
January 1, 2023 - Persons 50 years of age or younger
January 1, 2024 - Persons 60 years of age or younger
January 1, 2025 - All persons regardless of age
To learn more, visit CaliforniaBoaterCard.com or see the FAQ (frequently asked questions).